Vampire Weekend  - Only God Was Above Us Black Vinyl 2LP

Vampire Weekend - Only God Was Above Us Black Vinyl 2LP

Regular price
Regular price
Currently unavailable
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Expected release 05/04/24

1. Ice Cream Piano

2. Classical

3. Capricorn

4. Connect

5. Prep-School Gangsters

6. The Surfer

7. Gen-X Cops

8. Mary Boone

9. Pravda

10. Hope

Only God Was Above Us is the fifth studio album from Vampire Weekend. The album is inspired by and infused with the essence of the band’s birthplace of New York City, though recorded all over the world, from New York to Los Angeles to London and Tokyo. The album was produced by Ezra Koenig, and longtime collaborator Ariel Rechtshaid. The album title is lifted directly from the album artwork, which is a photo taken from a Subway graveyard in New Jersey in 1988 by photographer Steven Siegel.

Only God Was Above Us includes universal themes ranging from the urge to question the world in which we live, and the quest for peace that can only be found through acceptance. The album is equal parts as direct yet complex as anything the band has ever released, as beautiful and melodic as they’ve ever sounded but also at their grittiest.