Savoy Brown Blues Band - Shake Down 180gm Vinyl LP

Savoy Brown Blues Band - Shake Down 180gm Vinyl LP

Regular price
Regular price
Currently unavailable
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Expected release 26/04/24

Ain't Superstitious

Let Me Love You Baby

Black Night

High Rise

Rock Me Baby

I Smell Trouble

Oh! Pretty Woman

Little Girl

The Doormouse

Rides the Rails

It's My Own Fault

Shake 'Em On Down


Shake Down, the debut album from the much-respected London-based
Savoy Brown Blues Band was originally released on Decca Records in
September 1967 - It was produced by the infuential team of Mike Vernon
and Gus Dudgeon - This re-issue faithfully replicates the original 1967
Decca UK stereo release and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl
Led by Kim Simmonds, Savoy Brown were one of the UK's most successful and
exportable outfts. Shake Down is viewed as one of the strongest and most
respectful captures of the US blues they worshipped, bringing songs by Albert
King, Willie Dixon and John Lee Hooker to eager UK purists.
Recorded in West Hampstead rather than Chicago, the 11 covers showcased the
remarkably tight playing of the band, which had formed in Battersea two years
earlier. Savoy Brown on this recording comprised Trinidad born Brice Portius on
vocals (his only album with the group), Simmonds and Martin Stone trading blues
licks on their guitars, underpinned by the rhythm section of Ray Chappell on bass
and Leo Mannings on drums. US critic Dave Marsh was to say that Shake Down
was "as sympathetic a rendering of the blues as any English group has managed
to lay down."