Mull Historical Society - Loss Vinyl 2LP

Mull Historical Society - Loss Vinyl 2LP

Regular price
Regular price
Currently unavailable
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Expected release 24/02/23


1. Public Service Announcer

2. Watching Xanadu

3. Instead


1. I Tried

2. This Is Not Who We Were

3. Barcode Bypass


1. Only I

2. Animal Cannabus

3. Strangeways Inside


1. Mull Historical Society

2. Paper Houses

3. Loss

Loss is the gold-selling breakthrough debut album from Scottish indie pop band Mull Historical

Society. Celebrating it’s 21st anniversary the album’s doe-eyed heavenly melodies and wacky

lyrics still more than hold up today.

• When Colin MacIntyre’s debut Mull Historical Society single ‘Barcode Bypass’ (Rough Trade) was

named NME’s Debut Single of the Year in 2000, and then received its first daytime airplay (all 7

minutes of it) on Radio 1 on Jo Whiley’s show, it was clear a truly original song-writing talent had

emerged as if fully formed — and from the unlikely Atlantic outpost of the isle of Mull, in the

Scottish Hebrides (population of 2,500 people, 28,234 sheep).

• Named after a genuine society, dedicated to the preservation of tradition on the bands home

island; Mull sit somewhere in the valley between the Flaming Lips, Super Furry Animals and Beta

Band. Singles Barcode Bypass, I Tried, Animal Cannabus and Watching Xanadu highlight the high

quality, well crafted nature of this album. The use of musical techniques and media is highly

original yet well thought out.

• ‘Loss’ was widely hailed as one of the best British albums of that year (2001) and has since beenvoted in the top Scottish albums of all time. Reissued for the first time since it’s release in 2001.

The album has been remastered by Phil Kinrade at Alchemy Mastering and is presented here as a 2LP housed in a gatefold sleeve to match the original.