MF Doom - Operation Doomsday MF94 Vinyl 2LP (Original Cover)

MF Doom - Operation Doomsday MF94 Vinyl 2LP (Original Cover)

Regular price
Regular price
Currently unavailable
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Expected release 31/03/23

Standard black vinyl issue with no poster.

Side Zero

 A1           The Time We Faced Doom (Skit)               2:04

A2           Doomsday Featuring – Pebbles The Invisible Girl 4:58

A3           Rhymes Like Dimes Featuring – DJ Cucumber Slice 4:18

A4           The Finest Featuring – Tommy Gunn4:01

A5           Back In The Days (Skit)   0:45

Side One

B1           Go With The Flow            3:36

B2           Tick, Tick... Featuring – MF Grimm 4:04

B3           Red And Gold Featuring – King Ghidra 4:42

B4           The Hands Of Doom (Skit)            1:50

B5           Who You Think I Am? Featuring – King Ghidra, Kong (2), K.D.*, Megalon (2), Rodan, X-Ray (3) 3:24

Side Two

C1           Doom, Are You Awake? (Skit)    1:12

C2           Hey!      3:46

C3           Operation: Greenbacks Featuring – Megalon (2) 3:46

C4           The Mic Featuring – Pebbles The Invisible Girl 3:02

C5           The Mystery Of Doom (Skit)       0:21

Side Three

D1           Dead Bent           2:22

D2           Gas Drawls          3:43

D3           ? Featuring – Kurious 3:09

D4           Hero v.s. Villain (Epilogue) Featuring – E. Mason 2.55

Back again on vinyl where it belongs, MF DOOM's 1999 classic Operation: Doomsday is now presented on a premium grade LP, with audio re-mastered from the original Fondle'Em Records release, and a poster of the album cover art!

Underneath his mysterious metal mask, MF DOOM hides the cachet underground legends are made of. After KMD (his first group)’s 1994 sophomore album Bl_ck B_st_rds was shelved by Elektra in 1994 and his blood brother Subroc (one half of the sibling rap duo) passed away, surviving frontman Zev Love X mutated into the MC Avenger known as MF DOOM and the Rap world is better for it. This 19-cut deep album is ridiculously dope, in a bizarro Ol’ Dirty Bastard kind of way. Doom sounds either high or drunk on most of the tracks, his self-produced beats are gritty, and his rhyme styles are almost indecipherable. On arguably the best track, “Rhymes Like Dimes,” Doom weaves some pointed lyrics through his abstract wordplay, spitting ‘only in America could you find a way to earn a healthy buck / And still keep your attitude on self-destruct.’

Who You Think I Am? features DOOM‘s crew M.onster I.sland C.zars, while on “?” he trades hot verses with former Columbia artist Kurious Jorge. Doom’s avant-garde ghetto-rhyme philosophies take even more intentionally weird twists on “Tick, Tick...” where he and guest MC MF Grimm’s flows warble over a rhythm track whose tempo speeds up and slows down continually. The comic-book themed skits, will help take you deep into the mind of an MC who is as otherworldly as they come. And in today’s bland commercial Rap universe, Operation: Doomsday’s left-of-center beats and rhymes are the perfect remedy.