HALF JAPANESE - Our Solar System - 1 LP  [RSD 2024]

HALF JAPANESE - Our Solar System - 1 LP [RSD 2024]

Regular price
Regular price
Currently unavailable
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

This product is a Record Store Day title and not available to pre-order.
Available to buy in-store from 8am on Saturday, 20/04/2024 (Record Store Day).
Any remaining copies will be available to buy online from 8pm on Monday 22/04/2024.


40th anniversary edition of ‘Our Solar System’, Jad and David Fair's third studio album as Half Japanese. Originally released in 1984, ‘Our Solar System’ is a wild and chaotic outsider take on the history of pop music.

“A prime example of lo-fi garage exuberance full of romance, confidence, and verve.” AllMusic

Including their suitably avant-garde renditions of The 13th Floor Elevators’ ‘You’re Gonna Miss Me’, The Velvet Underground’s ‘European Son’, Buddy Holly’s ‘Because I Love You’ which is preceded by their own ‘Girl Athletes’ powered by a reverbed Bo Diddley rhythm.

A bravura performance of detuned excitement, 40 minutes of beautiful at times frantic disorder.

Filled with guitar and sax arm wrestling and bizarre sidesteps including a fuzzy take on Grieg’s ‘Hall Of The Mountain King’ which devolves into the standard ‘Louie Louie’ plus a jittering version of Bobby Lord’s ‘Did You Miss Me’.

Track List:

A1. Dance When I Say Dance
A2. Girl Athletes
A3. Because I Love You
A4. Danger Danger Rachel Lang
A5. E.S.P.
A6. Classical Music
A7. You're Gonna Miss Me
A8. Little Girls Have To Be Home Early
A9. Too Much Adrenalin

B1. Fire To Burn
B2. Rhonda
B3. Electricity Respect
B4. Knocked Down On The Dancefloor
B5. European Son
B6. There's A Girl
B7. Hall Of The Mountain King/Louie Louie
B8. Young Hearts Break
B9. Did You Miss Me
B10. Thing With A Hook