De La Soul - AOI: BIONIX Clear Vinyl 2LP

De La Soul - AOI: BIONIX Clear Vinyl 2LP

Regular price
Regular price
Currently unavailable
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Expected release 15/09/23

1. Intro

2. Bionix

3. Baby Phat

4. Simply

5. Simply Havin'

6. Held Down

7. Rev. Do Good # 1

8. Watch Out

9. Special

10. Rev. Do Good # 2

11. The Sauce

12. Am I Worth You?

13. Pawn Star

14. What We Do (For Love)

15. Rev. Do Good #3

16. Peer Pressure

17. It's American

18. Trying People

The first single, "Baby Phat" featuring Yummy Bingham and Devin the Dude, was an ode to larger sized women Elsewhere, "Held Down", featuring Cee- Lo, found Posdnuos in an introspective mood as he mused on fatherhood, religion, and fame. Slick Rick also made an appearance on "What We Do (For Love)"; a humorous song about puberty and sexual discovery.

The album featured skits with a character by the name of Reverend Do Good, which worked as social commentary as well as the intros and outros of the songs. The final Reverend Do Good skit acts as one final advertisement for Ghost Weed as heard on De La Soul's previous album, Art Official Intelligence: Mosaic Thump. A mischievous teenager takes a hit of the substance, then morphs intoSlum Village frontman J Dilla, who provides the intro and outro to the marijuana themed song "Peer Pressure" (which he also produced).