Black Keys - Delta Kream Vinyl 2LP

Black Keys - Delta Kream Vinyl 2LP

Regular price
Regular price
Currently unavailable
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Released 14/05/21

The Black Keys release their tenth studio album, Delta Kream, via Nonesuch Records.  The record celebrates the band’s roots, featuring eleven Mississippi hill country blues standards that they have loved since they were teenagers, before they were a band, including songs by R. L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough, among others.   Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney recorded Delta Kream at Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound studio in Nashville; they were joined by musicians Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton, long-time members of the bands of blues legends including R. L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough.  The album takes its name from William Eggleston’s iconic Mississippi photograph that is on its cover.


Auerbach says of the album, “We made this record to honor the Mississippi hill country blues tradition that influenced us starting out.  These songs are still as important to us today as they were the first day Pat and I started playing together and picked up our instruments.  It was a very inspiring session with Pat and me along with Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton in a circle, playing these songs.  It felt so natural.”


Carney concurs, “The session was planned only days in advance and nothing was rehearsed.  We recorded the entire album in about ten hours, over two afternoons, at the end of the “Let’s Rock” tour.” 


Auerbach says of Delta Kream’s first single ‘Crawling Kingsnake: “I first heard [John Lee] Hooker’s version in high school.  My uncle Tim would have given me that record.  But our version is definitely Junior Kimbrough’s take on it.  It’s almost a disco riff!”  Carney adds, "We fell into this drum intro; it's kind of accidental.  The ultimate goal was to highlight the interplay between the guitars.  My role with Eric was to create a deeper groove."


The music from northern Mississippi, which came to life in juke joints, has long left an imprint on the band’s music, from their cover of R.L. Burnide’s ‘Busted’ and Junior Kimbrough’s ‘Do The Romp’ on their debut album, The Big Come Up; to their subsequent signing to Fat Possum Records, home to many of their musical heroes; and to their EP of Junior Kimbrough covers, Chulahoma.


Formed in Akron, Ohio in 2001, The Black Keys, who have been called ‘rock royalty’ by the Associated Press and ‘one of the best rock ‘n’ roll bands on the planet’ by Uncut, are guitarist/singer Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney.  Cutting their teeth playing small clubs, the band have gone on to sell out arena tours and have released nine previous studio albums: their debut The Big Come Up (2002), followed by Thickfreakness (2003) and Rubber Factory (2004), along with their releases on Nonesuch Records, Magic Potion (2006), Attack & Release (2008), Brothers (2010), El Camino (2011), Turn Blue (2014) and, most recently, “Let’s Rock” (2019), plus and a tenth anniversary edition of Brothers (2020).  The band has won six Grammy Awards and a BRIT and headlined festivals in North America, South America, Mexico, Australia, and Europe. 



  1. Crawling Kingsnake
  2. Louise       
  3. Poor Boy a Long Way From Home                  
  4. Stay All Night               
  5. Going Down South      
  6. Coal Black Mattie        
  7. Do the Romp               
  8. Sad Days, Lonely Nights               
  9. Walk with Me                
  10. Mellow Peaches          
  11. Come on and Go with Me